MEMBERSHIP OF STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Council - 17 December 2013

Report of Chief Officer Legal and Governance

Status: For Decision

Key Decision: No

Portfolio Holder Cllr. Fleming

Contact Officer(s) Vanessa Etheridge Ext. 7199

Recommendation to Council: That Councillor Lindsay be appointed to the Standards Committee.

Reason for recommendation: to fill the current vacancy on the Committee.

Introduction

At Annual Council on 14 May 2013, the Committee memberships and compositions (which form Appendix H of the Council's Constitution) were agreed. Since that time a vacancy arose on the Standards Committee and the new composition and membership is proposed as follows:

Standards Committee

The Standards Committee will be composed of:

7 Members other than the Leader of the Council and no more than 1 Member selected from a particular Parish Boundary.

(7 Members: 6 Conservative, 1 UKIP)

Only one Member out of the above seven Members to be an Executive Member without being a Chair of the Committee as Standards is a Council function as opposed to an Executive function (s.27(8), Part 1, Chapter 7 of the Localism Act 2011.

Up to 2 co-opted Members of a parish or town council (a parish/town council member)

Chairman: Cllr. Gaywood Vice-Chairman: Cllr. Ball

Cllrs. Mrs Bosley, Mrs Bracken, Brown, Lindsay and Mrs Morris.

Key Implications

<u>Financial</u>

None as a direct result of this report

Legal Implications and Risk Assessment Statement.

There are no legal implications arising from this report.

Equality Impacts

Consideration of impacts under the Public Sector Equality Duty:			
Question		Answer	Explanation / Evidence
	Does the decision being made or recommended through this paper have potential to disadvantage or discriminate against different groups in the community?	No	N/A
	Does the decision being made or recommended through this paper have the potential to promote equality of opportunity?	No	
	What steps can be taken to mitigate, reduce, avoid or minimise the impacts identified above?		N/A

Background Papers: Council Agenda and Minutes – 14 May 2013

Mrs Christine Nuttall Chief Officer for Legal and Governance